Demon Encyclopedia
Working with Demons

Historical Demonic Hierarchies

Over history there have been many books written on Demons and the various Hierarchies of Hell.  Many of them are written from the Right Hand Path perspective so their titles are very insulting and not how we have experienced them at all.

It is interesting though to note the similarities and the differences in each Demonic Hierarchy, and even more fascinating to discuss each individual Demon and explore them and get a more well rounded view of them.   Below you will find them listed including the publication that they can be found in.

Though we personally see then differently and have our own hierarchy that we will be posting in the future, this is a good reference point to see how the definition of the demons has evolved over time.

Dictionaire Infernale (1863) – Collin De Plancy

Beelzebub – Lord of the flies
Urobach – Of the lower order of demons
Andras – Grand Marquis of Hell, causes discord and quarrels
Asmodeus – The Destroyer
Astaroth – Obtains Friendship of great lords
Behemoth – Demon of Indulgence
Ronwe – Demon of Lingual knowledge

Grimoire of Pope Honorius: PRINCIPLE INFERNAL SPIRITS (1600)

Lucifer – Emperor
Beelzebub – Prince
Astarot – Grand Duke


Lucifage Rofocale – Prime Minister
Satanchia – Grand General
Agaliarept – Aussi General
Feurety – Lieutenant Commander
Sargantanas – Major
Nebiros – Field Marshall


Bael , Bathim, Agares, Pursan, Marbas, Abigar, Pruslas, Loray, Aamon, Valefar, Barbatos,
Forau, Buer, Ayperos, Gusoyn, Nuberus, Botis, Glasyabolis

The Magus (1801) – Francis Barrett

Satan – Prince of deluders
Mammon – Prince of tempters
Asmodeus – Prince of vengeance
Belzebuth – Chief of false god
Pytho – Prince of the spirits of deceit Belial – Prince of iniquity
Merihim – Prince of the spirits of pestilence Abbadon – Prince of war
Astaroth – Prince of accusers and inquisitors

Faust’s Hierarchy

Beelzebub – North
Lucifer – East
Belial – South
Astaroth – West
Phlegathon – Center

Hierarchy of Hell ( 1515-1588) – Johan Weyer (also under John Weir)

Johan Weyer’s Hierarchy

Beelzebuth – Supreme Chieftan
Satan – Occupies second place as prince of darkness. Eurynomous – Prince of death
Moloch – Prince of the land of tears
Pluto – Prince of fire
Baal – Commander of the armies of hell
Lucifer – Dispenses justice
Asmodeus – Gambling
Baalberith – Minister of pacts and treaties Proserpine – Prince of demonic spirits
Astaroth – Prince and treasurer of hell
Nergal – Chief of secret police
Chamos, Melchom, Behamoth, Dagon, Adramalek

John Wier’s Hierarchy

Bael – King, lord of the East, and commands 66 legions
Forcas – President
Beur – President and commands 50 legions
Marchocias- Marquis and commands 30 legions
Behamoth – unkown

Demons of the Seven Deadly Sins (1589) – Peter Binsfeld

Lucifer – pride
Mammon – avarice
Asmodeus – lechery
Satan – anger
Beelzebub – gluttony
Leviathan – envy
Belphegore – sloth

Sebastien Michaelis’s Histoire admirable de la Possession et conversion d’une penitente (1613)

Belzebuth – pride
Leviathan – faith
Asmodeus – luxury
Balberith – blasphemy and murder
Astaroth – vanity and sloth
Verrine – impatience
Gresil – impurity
Sonnillon – hate

Carreau – mercilessness
Carnivean – obscenity
Oeillet – riches and wealth
Rosier – love
Verrier – disobedience

Belial – arrogance
Olivier – cruelty and greed
Juvart – demonic possession

Other Medieval Hierarchies

Baal-beryth – master of rituals and pacts
Dumah – commander of the demons of gehenna Meririm – prince of air
Rahab – prince of oceans
Sariel – Prince of the moon
Mephistopholes – the destroyer
Lucifer Rofocale – prime minister and controls wealth

Adramaleck – Prince of Fire
Carniveau – Demon of Possession
Python – Prince of lying spirits
Mammon – Prince of tempters, avarice, and greed
Rimmon – Prince of lightning and storms

Leviathan – The Chaos Dragon
Barbelo – Unknown
Proserpine – Destroyer
Astarte – Queen of spirits of the dead
Agrat-bat-mahlaht – One of Satan’s wives and demoness of whores
Eisheth Zenunim – Same as above
Lilith – Satan’s favorite wife
Naamah – demoness of seduction

Richard Dukante’s Hierarchy (1963)

Family 1
Satan – King
Unsere – (Female) Fertility and Sorcery
Satanchia – Grand General (War)
Agaliarept – Assistant Grand General (War)
Lucifage – High Command (Control)
Flereous – Fire Elemental
Lucifer – Air Elemental
Beelzebuth – Lord of Lords.
Belphegore – Master of Weaponry- gain
Mephisto – Keeper of the book of death
Delepitoré- (Female) Demoness of magick.
Belial – Earth Elemental

Family 2
Luithian – Advisor
*Azlyn – (Female) Weaves the threads of things to come, future.
Leviathan – Water Elemental
Sonnelion – (Female) Demoness of hate

Family 3
Abbadon – Advisor
Ammon – demon of domination
Mammon – Demon of Avarice

Family 4
Rosier – Demon of love
Astarte – (Female) Demoness of love
Ashtaroth – (Female) Priestess of friendship
Astarot – Matters concerning the heart
Amducious – The destroyer
Asmodeus – Demon of Lust

Family 5
Eurynomous – Demon of Death
Balberith – Prince of dying
Babeal – Keeper of Graves

Family 6
Verrine – Demon of Health
Verrier – (Female) Demoness of herbal knowledge
Ronwe – Demon of Knowledge

Family 7
Svengali – Demon of Vengeance
Tezrian – (Female) Priestess of battle

Family 8 – Some speculation has arisen suggesting that family 8 should actually be coupled with family 3. As it has been suggested these are the females of that family.

Asafoetida – (Female) Demoness of feminine attributes
Rashoon – (Female) Priestess of seduction
Taroon – (Female) Priestess of Desire

Family 9 Consists of lesser hierarchy :




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.